Mixtape (Edinburgh Show): Initial Planning

I’m incredibly excited to blog about this project, because it’s the first project that I’ve started after I began this blog, so you will be able to get updates for the whole project from beginning (well, where I started getting involved) to end.

Sophie Grant, who graduated from Cambridge a few years ago, and is currently a freelance musician in London contacted me a few weeks ago asking if I’d be available to produce her Edinburgh show, Mixtape, which she describes as:

“A cross between a live gig and a lunchtime music club, Mixtape takes a different theme every day and explores it through covers of popular music. Join multi-instrumentalist Sophie Grant and guests for an uplifting and unique experience for all.”

She had contacted a student who she had known while in Cambridge, who wasn’t available, but he had produced Tribes, which I’d assistant produced, and he suggested Sophie get in touch with me, which she did. We discussed options, because, due to my internship with Fuel Theatre, I wouldn’t be able to go to Edinburgh with her, which isn’t ideal, but in the end, we agreed that most of what she needed doing I could do before the run itself, and I’d be available by email/phone on the few days before the show and on the opening day to help with last minute organisation and problem solving.

We then met up, a few days before the Newnham June Event, to get me up to date on what she’d already done in terms of preparation, and what she felt still needed doing, so that I could work out a timeline/to do list for between now and August. She had in fact done quite a lot – the venue was fixed and the show is in the free fringe programme, and she’d already got some funding from the Cambridge Footlights.

What still needs doing is drafting the budget, organising the publicity campaign (getting posters and flyers designed and printed and press releases sent out), getting a technical operator and generally managing any hitches in the run up process. Stay tuned for my next update, which will let you know how these processes are going! (And if you’re in Edinburgh, you should definitely go to the show, because I already know it’s going to be awesome and we’ve still got a lot to do for it!) If you want more frequent updates still, you can also follow the show’s twitter page, which Sophie and I will be posting on!

Emily xxx

P.S. Please let me know if you have any questions about this or any of my other posts, and if you, like Sophie, are looking for a producer for a show you want to get on the stage you can always get in touch with me here!

4 thoughts on “Mixtape (Edinburgh Show): Initial Planning

Leave a Reply

