Fuel Internship – Week 11

By the time you read this post, I will have an hour left of my time with Fuel, and that makes me quite sad. Week 11, like every week before it, and the remaining week I’m sure, was wonderful, and I’m so so grateful to everyone at Fuel for the wonderful time I’ve had, and the opportunity I’ve been given.

Day 31:

I started off Wednesday with completing an Arts Council England application for a really exciting sounding R&D project, which I hope will develop into something public soon, because I’m really keen to see it! You’ve heard a lot about ACE applications from me now (and if you haven’t you can go back and read more about the process in previous updates about my time at Fuel!). I then got started on a relatively long winded task, which took me the rest of the day and some of Thursday: compiling an Excel document of all the performances and development projects from 2012-2014, which artist Fuel were working with, and which venues they worked in, in order to be able to have all that information to hand when they create the new business plan for the next five years. It was a really interesting process because, after 10 weeks with Fuel, I’d heard about a lot of the projects, many of which have been remounted since, and it was interesting to see where they were at in 2012-2014.

Day 32:

Thursday was spent mostly working on my comprehensive list of past work/artists and venues, with an interlude of making a publicity plan for The 14th Tale, which is, as you read this, touring schools around the UK. More on The 14th Tale in just a minute, but in terms of the publicity plan, this involved writing possible tweets and facebook posts about the project and its development as it tours London, Margate and Newcastle. These are put in an Excel spreadsheet, with an order, so that they’re evenly spread, but also in flow with other tweets/facebook posts written by Fuel about other events. If you want to see what I wrote, go check out Fuel’s twitter page!

Day 33:

On Friday, the big thing of the day was the dress rehearsal of The 14th Tale, which several of the Fuel team were attending, before it went off to schools on Monday. Gareth, the projects producer for this project was in Brixton (where the rehearsals were happening) in the morning, so one thing I did was get some of the things which needed doing in the office done for him (some printing for the workshops which are happening in the schools along with the performance, finding a clipboard and printing a couple of scripts…). The other thing I did in the morning (and finished off after the rehearsal) was create itineraries for Kate and Tom who were going to Norway on Wednesday/Thursday for a performance of Fiction. The dress rehearsal was great – Michael (the performer) was really good (and very impressive – I don’t think I could manage anywhere near that level of energy performing on my own for 50 minutes, never mind remember 50 minutes worth of text…) and the show itself is fantastic. If you’re one of the lucky people who’s school is being visited and you get to see it let me know what you thought in the comments!

That’s all for today, thank you as always for reading! Feel free to like the post if you enjoyed it, let me know your thoughts and/or questions in the comments and follow the blog if you haven’t already done so and you want to read more! On Monday there’s an announcement coming up about the future of the blog (!!!) and then Friday will update you about this last week at Fuel.

Emily xxx

P.S. This blog now has over 100 followers, which is wonderful – thank you so so much for joining me on this journey.

One comment

Leave a Reply

