Fuel Internship – Week 12

It’s officially over, and by the time you read this, I will have left Fuel a week ago. I spent 12 weeks there, 36 wonderful days of work which you can read about in all my past posts, and I’m really quite sad about it being over: I’ve had a wonderful summer and I didn’t want it to end, but I’m looking forwards to an exciting final year of university including all sorts of theatre related projects that you’ll hear about here in due course (next up is The Marlowe Showcase, in just under a month, which I will catch you up on the progress of next week, and other projects include both my dissertations, going to see lots of theatre and more…).

I want to extend the hugest of thanks to the whole team at Fuel for your kindness, generosity and overwhelming willingness to help me: I’ve learned so much from you all this summer, and I really hope we’ll get an opportunity to work together again in future.

To the rest of my readers – if you see work by Fuel coming near you (this will be mostly people living in the UK, but not only you!) I urge you to go see it – all the work that I have seen by them is fantastic, and I’m really excited by some of the work which is coming up, I can’t wait to see it, and I want you all get to enjoy it too!

Now that’s all said, here’s what I got up to in my last week with Fuel…

Day 34:

On Wednesday the highlight was going to a rehearsed reading of Lady Percy by Queynte Ladies in the afternoon, but before that I did a few more normal work things. These included sorting out the recycling of printer cartidges, going through some application notes and audience feedback…. Then, just after lunch we went up to the the other side of Covent Garden, to the Seven Dials Club, (just next to the Donmar Warehouse). We were expecting a verse play, and we weren’t disappointed: the reading turned out to be a full length (75 minute first half,15 minute interval, 50 minute second half) verse play, in the style of an early modern (Shakespeare/Marlowe…) history play, but focused on Lady Percy, the wife of Henry Hotspur, Earl of Northumberland, and with themes treating gender in a more 21st century way. There were obviously still wrinkles to be ironed out (it was after all, a rehearsed reading of a work in development, and not a final product!) such as, in my opinion, it being a little too long, but it was a wonderful piece, which was brilliantly written and which I look forward to seeing in its more final form in future. If you see it, or Quenyte Ladies’ other piece, Marge and Jules, on near you, I wholeheartedly recommend them! When I got back to the office I got on with what I’d been up to earlier with applications, but there were only 45 minutes of my day left…

Day 35:

On Thursday I got in, and finished off the admin from the previous day, and then started on something new – editing a video extract for an application. We wanted a clip from a previous performance with an opening overview and an endscreen, and no-one in the office had an experience of video editing, so I had a play around until I got something together that we were happy with. This took me longer than it probably would have taken someone with a lot of experience with editing videos, but I was proud of my achievement, and am hoping to improve my video editing skills over this year, to have an extra tool in my bag when I get to applying for jobs.  I then had some more upkeep things to do; some editing of the Fuel website, and some booking of trains for various people, both performers and members of the Fuel team, for a variety of events in the next few weeks. I also got to attend the first production meeting for a project in the future, which I can’t tell you very much about, but the meeting experience was fascinating, and the different options and methods and things which could (and then of those which should) be prioritised was an exciting discussion to attend and hear people’s opinions of (and give my own…)

Day 36:

My last day at Fuel was a relatively quiet one, I went through the online statistics of our various websites for the month of September and inputted them into the comparison document, and I planned out some tweets for the coming weeks, but it was a great opportunity to ask any final questions to the members of the team about any advice they could give me. The most insightful was Tom’s suggestion that another thing I should check out/try to get experience of within theatre production/administration is how it works within a venue, rather than a production company, just so I have the experience of different environments and the requirements/particular skills or roles involved in each of those. Hopefully I will get a little of that this year, while at university, but if not, I agree that it would be a good step to take! We left the office a little early and Robyn, Kate and Tom took me out for a leaving drink, which was incredibly kind of them, and I appreciated it.

So that’s it guys… My time with Fuel is over, I am back at university for my final year, and I am so grateful for the wonderful opportunity I was given and the exciting time I had this summer. I really, really hope I’ll get to work with Fuel again, because they are a wonderful company, who produce incredible work, and they are all really great people, which is a lovely thing in a work environment. Thank you all as always for reading, I hope you’ll continue to enjoy my journey, and follow it along with me as it evolves, and I will see you next Friday, to tell you all about the Marlowe Showcase.

Emily xxx

P.S. I’m so sorry that when this went up at 5 o’clock, some of the text was missing. Not sure what happened, but I’ve fixed it now!

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

