Plans for the Term Ahead and Recommended Theatre for January 2017

Happy New Year! I hope you’ve had a pleasant end of the year, whatever form that may have taken, and that 2017 brings you everything you’re hoping for.

My list of New Years Resolutions for 2017 includes many things: try to bring more positivity into my life and the life of those around me, take time to establish routines of calm and self-care in my life, push forwards further and better for the next six months to get the best degree I can (I will – hopefully – be graduating on 30 June)… They also include plans for this blog for the next six months (after which, the blog will evolve in accordance with whatever I may be doing).

I am planning to continue weekly uploads on Fridays at 5pm GMT (to get your weekend started in style!) which will include both advice about theatre administration and production and updates on my current projects and (hopefully) my career plans. There will also be two new posts each month: one at the start of the month recommending theatre in places I know about (at the moment that will be London, Cambridge and Sheffield) and one at the end of the month covering theatre I have seen during the month and my thoughts about it. I hope that you will enjoy them.

Without further ado, here are my recommendations for theatre in January 2017:

In London in January 2017 plays which I have seen advertised which I think look interesting include:

  • The National Theatre’s LOVE at the Dorfman Theatre until 10 January. (Book tickets here)
  • The Old Vic’s ART at the Old Vic throughout January. (Book tickets here)
  • The Donmar Warehouse’s St Joan at the Donmar throughout January. (Book tickets here)
  • The Royal Court’s Escaped Alone at the Jerwood Theatre from 25 January until 11 February. (Book tickets here)

Plays happening in Cambridge which I think look interesting include:

  • ETG’s Hamlet at the ADC on 17-21 January. (Book tickets here)
  • I have to include CUMS’ Mahler Symphony No. 3, as I will be singing in it, in Kings’ Chapel on 21 January. (Book tickets here)
  • The Fletcher Players’ Lemons Lemons Lemons Lemons Lemons at the Corpus Playroom on 24-28 January. (Book tickets here)
  • Also a quick plug for Cigarettes and Chocolate at the ADC on 1 and 2 of February, which I won’t be able to get into February’s recommendations in time. (Book tickets here)

In Sheffield, the following productions, in my opinion, look interesting:

  • Sheffield Theatres’ Annie Get Your Gun at the Crucible Theatre on now until 21 January, which I saw on 3 January. (Book tickets here)
  • Cardboard Citizens’ Cathy at the Crucible Studio on 10 and 11 January. (Book tickets here)
  • Anna-Jane Casey’s The Life in a Day at the Crucible Studio on 16 January. (Book tickets here)
  • Jamie Wilson’s Sister Act (UK Tour production) at the Lyceum Theatre on 16-21 January. (Book tickets here)
  • HHTC’s Beauty and the Beast at the Montgomery Theatre on 25-27 January. (Book tickets here)

A couple of other things which have caught my eye include:

  • Fuel‘s An Evening with An Immigrant at the Brighton Dome on 28 and 29 January. (Book tickets here)

I hope that you’ve seen something in this list which has caught your eye, and I’d love to hear your thoughts about any of these plays, if you can go see them, in the comments! I’m also very interested to hear about any plays which you would recommend, in places I can get to or elsewhere in the world (which other readers might be interested to see): please leave some in the comments!

Thank you as always for reading, I hope you’ll follow the blog if you’re new, and join us for what is likely to be an exciting year for me and like this post if you enjoyed it. I’ll see you next Friday for an update on Cigarettes and Chocolate!

Emily xxx

Leave a Reply

