Cigarettes and Chocolate – Update

First things first – an apology: I completely forgot to write a post last week, for which I apologise. I have mitigating circumstances (recording a CD is a punishing schedule, and trying to finish one dissertation and draft another while so doing fills up a lot of time!) and it is the first time that has happened since I started blogging in May, but nonetheless, I’m sorry. It won’t happen again!

That said – on to this week’s post. I’m thrilled to let you all know that Cigarettes and Chocolate is going swimmingly!

The thing which was worrying me the most when I last updated, was that I had been unable to find out who was responsible for the rights to the play (Samuel French own the performance rights of all of Anthony Minghella’s other plays, and the rights to the text of Cigarettes and Chocolate, but not the performance rights, and google was getting me nowhere). I have now got these rights, which are licensed by Judy Daish Associates, who are the agents for Minghella’s literary estate. It took me a little longer than I’d expected, but it was the first time – for me – that googling “[name of play] licensing” hadn’t got me to the right place and I got there in the end: it’s a learning curve for us all!

So, learn from my experience: the next places to look for rights, if a simple google doesn’t get you to the right place are the agencies linked to playwright(s). With hindsight, it should have been obvious, but it wasn’t and if I missed it, I’m sure someone else will too in future: I hope this saves you the stress I went through!

Rehearsals have now started for the play, and the director, Emily Galvin, has told me that she is thrilled with their progress, despite the short time the cast have to work on the play.

My tasks now are to manage the progress; make sure the production team are happy with everything they have to do, and that everything gets done, to push publicity, so that we get the best audiences in, and to make sure everything runs smoothly from here on in until 1-2 February.

If you live in or near Cambridge, and would like to come see Cigarettes and Chocolate at the ADC Theatre, you can book tickets here.

That’s all for this week, thank you as always for reading! Please like the post if you enjoyed it, leave a comment with your thoughts and follow the blog if you haven’t already, so you’re kept updated when I post (every Friday at 5pm GMT). And book a ticket for Cigarettes and Chocolate if you can and haven’t yet done so! Apologies again for the lack of post last week; I’ll be back next Friday with my thoughts on the theatre I’ve seen this month, and the following Friday with recommendations for February!

Emily xxx

P.S. As always, if there is anything you’d like me to write a post about please let me know, either in a comment, or through the contact section of the website!

7 comments

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! It’s okay to miss a post once in a while 🙂 I think what you say about tracking down rights for plays can be really tough- even when you have the right contact information agents can sometimes be really difficult to actually pin down!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the reassurance, it’s really encouraging! I’m glad I’m not the only one who has struggled with that! Thank you for reading and leaving a comment: I really appreciate it! xxx

      Like

  2. I agree on no need to apologise – also thanks for writing about copyright. I was personally clueless about the number of different copyrights that can be present in a single theatrical work (for example) before I was taught it in my third year, and it is interesting to read about it in practice. I hope things continue to go well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the reassurance: it’s so helpful! I’m really pleased you enjoyed the post, and thank you for the good wishes, as well as for reading and leaving a comment: all are deeply appreciated! xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

