Recommended Theatre in February 2017 and The Mystery Blogger Award

I’m hoping to manage to see more theatre in February than I saw last month: recording a CD and a large concert on top of my normal extra-curricular activities and my university workload (which with four months until my finals is building up quite significantly!) didn’t leave me with much leisure time to go to the theatre! Some of the things I’ve seen that I think look fantastic and I’m really interested in seeing include:

In London:

  • Twelfth Night at the National Theatre, with Tamsin Greig playing Malvolia, is probably the single thing I’m most looking forwards to this month; I have tickets to see it on the 18th, and I am incredibly excited! It’s on 15th February – 17th April, so if you miss it this month, you have a few more opportunities to go. (I’ll tell you what I thought of it in my review of February’s theatre at the end of the month.) You can book tickets here.
  • The National are putting on some more Shakespeare: Macbeth, on 6-20th February (book tickets here) and Romeo and Juliet, on 11-24th February (book tickets here).
  • The Young Vic are putting on See Me Now, on 11th February – 4th March: a production created and performed by sex workers, which sounds fascinating (see more here). Unfortunately it’s already sold out, but if you’re going to see it I’d love to hear all about it!

There is also always plenty on in the West End that has been there forever and/or will be there for a while (or that, like Harry Potter and the Cursed Child or Hamilton is sold out and has been for years…) that I don’t include in these posts, not because they aren’t valuable theatre, or because I think what I’m recommending is better, but because it feels a bit odd to say “Hey you should check out Les Mis in the West End specifically in February 2017″.

In Cambridge:

  • I’m going to see A Hot Gay Time Machine tonight, which looks fantastic, and closes tomorrow, but it’s been sold out for a while, so I won’t rub it in to those who wanted to get tickets and haven’t been able to by giving you a booking link…
  • The ADC are staging London Road next week (7-11 February) at 7.45pm which looks interesting (book here) and Unravelling the Ribbon at 11pm on the same dates: all profits are going to charity, so this is definitely one you should book for (do so here).

Elsewhere:

  • Fuel’s An Evening With An Immigrant is on at State Theatre Centre of WA in Perth, WA on the 24th and 25th February: if you’re an Australian reader this is your chance! It’s a fantastic play, and you can book tickets here.
  • Fuel also have Fiction by David Rosenberg and Glen Neath touring to a couple of venues in the UK: Wolverhampton Arena Theatre on the 9th (book here), Media Factory in Preston on the 11th (book here), Northern Stage in Newcastle on the 14th (the perfect Valentine’s evening!) and 15th. If any of those are near you, don’t miss it!

Realistically, I’m only going to manage to make it to plays in London or Cambridge, but if you are able to see any of these for me and tell me about them, either in a comment here or on twitter (@emilybaycroft) I’d be very grateful! (Incidentally, twitter is a good place to see more recommendations from me, as I retweet anything I see which looks interesting!)


On another, exciting note, I have been nominated for the Mystery Blogger Award by Aubrey Leaman at If Mermaids Wore Suspenders. Her blog is full of exciting things about books and literature, which as an English student I find really exciting, so if you’re interested you can go explore her blog at the link above.

She said that this award is “for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts.  Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging and they do it with so much love and passion.” This is so generous a description to be applied to me that I can say little more than: wow! Thank you so much, I’m incredibly honoured that my writing is being enjoyed that much. Thank you also to all my readers, whose support is invaluable to me.

The rules for the award, as created by Okoto Enigma, are as follows:

1)  Display the award logo on your blog.
award2)  Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
3)  Mention the creator of the award and provide a link.
4)  Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.
5)  Answer 5 questions from the nominee.
6)  Share the link to your best post.

1-3: Tick

Three things about myself

I blog almost exclusively about theatre and my professional aspirations, as they relate to that, with only intermittent mentions of my personal life, so here are three things about me which you may not know:

  • I speak fluent French, as well as English. My mother is French, and my parents spoke French at home while I was growing up (in Sheffield) so I grew up fully bilingual.
  • I have two younger brothers
  • I’m 5 feet 4 inches tall, which puts me at the global average for women, but rather below the national average in the UK (something my younger brothers, both of whom are almost six feet tall frequently remind me of)

Answer 5 questions from the nominee

  • If you could have a conversation with any fictional character, who would it be and why? I would want to have a conversation with Albus Dumbledore, because he holds the answer to my biggest question about the Harry Potter universe: if he duelled Grindlewald while Grindlewald had an unbeatable wand and described that conflict as “I won the duel, I won the wand”… How?? Although I also have a lot of questions for Celia Bowen of The Night Circus and would be keen to talk to a lot of characters from my bookshelves.
  • If you were to become a famous musician or singer, what kind of music would you be famous for? I can’t imagine myself as a famous solo singer, but I do a lot of choral singing, so maybe I will one day sing with a famous choir?
  • If you were to become a famous author, what kind of books would you be famous for? Some kind of fiction. Probably long, complicated fiction where the interesting things are how people relate to one another, rather than the plot… But that’s not especially popular fiction, so much as the fiction I like… Maybe I wouldn’t make a particularly good famous author either!
  • Would you rather have someone constantly narrating your life like a voiceover or be constantly followed around by theme music? Theme music. No question. A voiceover would be frustrating, theme music would be great!
  • If it became an option for people to move to another planet, would you move there? Why or why not? Not. I’m quite a homebody, and having watched my parents live in different countries and on different continents to their immediate families, I wouldn’t want to move quite as far as a different planet!

 

Share the link to your best post.

My most read post is: How to Get an Internship in Theatre: check it out if you haven’t seen it yet!

That’s all for this week! Thank you as always for reading, and for your support of my writing: I really appreciate it! I hope you enjoyed this post, please like it if you did, and leave me a comment with your thoughts, particularly if you go see any of these plays: I’d love to hear what you think of them! I’d also love to know if you’re interested in hearing more personal things on this blog, or if you prefer the theatre focused writing. I’ll be back next Friday to tell you all about how Cigarettes and Chocolate went, so keep your eyes peeled for that!

Emily xxx

P.S. I got tickets for Hamilton in London in February 2018! Booking things that far in advance feels mad: I have no idea what I will be doing in February 2018, but I will be going to the theatre! I’m still thinking about what I want to see in February of this year, but I already know about February next year… I hope anyone in the UK who was trying to get tickets succeeded!

One comment

  1. Great blog, Emily. I really enjoy your blogs and read most of them right away. I’m not a “facebook” person, at least not yet. I,m ordering a new computer that I’m sure will be a little faster than my ten year old desktop. I guess I must resign to the fact I must join the IT world if I am to be in the “swing” of things. grandad

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

