It went incredibly well!!

As you will know if you’ve been reading for a little while; I’ve been producing Cigarettes and Chocolate, directed by my close friend Emily Galvin for the past few couple of months. (If you haven’t been reading for a while, welcome, and that’s the main stuff you needed to know. If you want to catch up more you can do here, here and here.)

The rehearsal period went well, as did the planning process the Production team put in. There were a couple of small moments of problem solving, for example the sofa we got from the set store was not the one we were expecting, and we needed to add a throw to achieve the right style for the flat, but on the whole the production process went smoothly. The final few days before the show went up were, as we expected, very busy, but it was worth it. One of the ‘perks’ of student theatre is that everything is done within a short time frame and so it can get rather intense (I kid you not, the ADC has a rule that no one may spend more than 16 out of every 24 hours in the theatre, because otherwise people might!) and I definitely spent a lot of time at the theatre last week.

The reviews were very positive, which was encouraging (you can read them here or here) and everyone I spoke to about it at each performance enjoyed the play and found it interesting, which was wonderful: it’s always encouraging when you put time and energy (and blood, sweat and tears) into something and the result is what you wanted!

Ticket sales were also good, which was encouraging: 11pm on a Wednesday and Thursday night are not the easiest times to sell to people, but both performances had sizeable audiences and the sales were what was wanted in terms of the budget, which is always a relief when that’s your responsibility.

I’ll tell you a bit more about what I thought of the play itself in my review of theatre at the end of the month, so stay tuned for that, but this is the end of another successful project, which is great. I’m now planning to concentrate on my degree until I graduate in June, so I don’t have any new projects on the books, though that may change if I end up missing theatre too much!

I’ll keep writing about what I’m seeing/recommend, and I have a couple of other things in the pipeline to write about, so do stay tuned for those, and I will see you next week! Thanks as always for reading, please like the post if you enjoyed it, leave me a comment with anything you’d like me to write about in the coming weeks and follow the blog if you haven’t already!

Emily xxx

P.S. Here are some rehearsal pictures for those of you who were unable to make it to enjoy! Photo Credit: Johnny King

16442835_10208107706600796_1757465905_o16443053_10208107734241487_2139052969_o16443138_10208107706520794_1553509879_o16491335_10208107706640797_1249276079_o16492368_10208107706400791_157326916_o

 

 

One thought on “Cigarettes And Chocolate – How It Went!

Leave a Reply

