Get to Know Me Better: A Q&A

A couple of people suggested that they would be interested in a couple of more personal, less theatre-related blog posts after I answered some questions about me for the Mystery Blogger Award. So I googled the Q&A questions bloggers and vloggers get asked, and I’m going to answer fifty below!

1. What’s your favourite candle scent?

I’m not sure. I like cinnamon/cloves type scents a lot, but my brother’s girlfriend got me a vanilla and plum blossom scented candle for Christmas, and it smells phenomenal.

2. What female celebrity do you wish was your sister?

I don’t follow celebrity culture all that much, so the majority of my ‘celebrities’ are theatre people or authors. I really admire JK Rowling for both her writing (her adult writing, both under her own name and under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith is great, as well as Harry Potter) and her political activism; I think she would give great advice, which I think is what I’d want from an older sister. (I don’t have any sisters though, so I wouldn’t know what to expect from one.)

3. What male celebrity do you wish was your brother?

As above with regards to disclaimers about my knowledge of ‘normal’ celebrity culture. I have two younger brothers, with whom I have great relationships: we have fun together and they’re both wonderful people. I enjoy The Late Late Show, and I think James Cordon is really funny, so if I wanted a third brother I think he’d be great. Plus, I like singing musical theatre in the car, and often do with the brothers I have, and he gets paid to sing in the car, so he must be good at it: he’d fit right in!

4. How old do you think you’ll be when you get married?

I’m twenty currently, and I have no immediate plans for marriage. I think the most important thing with regards to getting married isn’t how old you are (age is just a number etc etc etc) but how happy, stable and long-lasting your relationship is/will be. I’d like to get married, to the right person, but I’m much more interested in the relationship being right than I am in marriage for its own purposes. (Like if I want a big wedding-like party, I can throw one of those at whatever age I feel that party is what I need. Marriage is a bit longer term than that!)

5. Do you know a hoarder?

No.

6. Can you do a split?

I did a lot of ballet while I was at school, and I used to be able to do the right leg splits quite consistently, left leg splits very occasionally, if I was particularly well warmed up and feeling flexible, and I once managed a middle splits. Now though? I’m out of practise and that would hurt.

7. How old were you when you learned how to ride a bike?

Seven or eight. I learned late because I was absolutely convinced I couldn’t do it. I even came home from school one time in Year 2 (or so my mother tells me, I don’t actually remember this) and told my mother that Mrs Collins, my teacher, didn’t know how to ride a bike, so it was okay if I never learned! Now, I live in Cambridge and I cycle or walk everywhere!

8. How many oceans have you swum in?

Only the Atlantic I think? (What are the others? I’ve never swum in the Pacific or the Indian… I have swum in a couple of seas as well though.)

9. How many countries have you been to?

I’m not sure. England, Scotland, France, Canada, Austria, Germany, Poland, USA, Italy definitely. I may have missed one or two. I would definitely like to visit more places and some of those countries again though. Travelling is an amazing privilege! Edited to Add: My brother read this and reminded me I had missed Belgium, Wales and Ireland. I knew I’d missed some… (He also agreed that James Corden would make a great brother.)

10. Is anyone in your family in the army?

I don’t think so. Certainly not in my immediate family.

11. What would you name your daughter if you had one?

It would depend on who I had one with and what they thought. My thoughts on naming children are that I need names to be English/French bi-lingual, I like them to be fairly mainstream, I like them to have literary associations and I like them to have family associations. I won’t be having children for a while though, if I can help it.

12. What would you name your son if you had one?

See above.

13. What’s the worst grade you got on a test?

Not sure. I remember a spelling test in Year 4 vividly, because I’d just come back from a year of school in France and they teach handwriting differently there, and of the 20 words on this test, when my classmate marked it I got 4 right. He thought this was hilarious, and I cried, and the teacher came and looked at it, realised that I definitely could spell most of those words and gave the class a lesson in handwriting variation and development. I changed my handwriting almost immediately anyway though. (I think I got 17 or 18 out of 20? Which would usually have upset me at school: I was the kid who always tried to get 20 out of 20, but I was so relieved it wasn’t 4/20 that it didn’t bother me as much.)

14. What was your favourite TV show when you were a child?

We didn’t have a TV til I was 7, and even after that we only had a VCR and DVD player, so I never really watched TV shows. In fact, my parents only got a TV license this year, two years after I moved out.

15. What did you dress up as on Halloween when you were eight?

No idea.

16. Have you read any of the Harry Potter, Hunger Games or Twilight series?

Yes, no and yes. I still like the Harry Potter series, but I’ve outgrown the Twilight ones.

17. Would you rather have an American accent or a British accent?

I have actually had both: until I went to school I learned English from my father, who has a Canadian accent (not quite American, but close) and then my accent changed to match my classmates when I went to school. (In fact, it changed again when I moved from the north of the UK to the south of the UK for university, because there’s no such thing as a British accent, accents in the UK vary hugely by region.) I clearly can’t hold on to an accent when surrounded by people speaking differently, so I suppose I’d prefer a ‘British’ accent, because at the moment I’d rather live in the UK than America.

18. Did your mother go to college?

Yes.

19. Are your grandparents still married?

Yes on both sides.

20. Have you ever taken karate lessons?

No.

21. Do you know who Kermit the frog is?

Yes.

22. What’s the first amusement park you’ve been to?

I’m not sure, I’ve not been to many if any.

23. What language, besides your native language, would you like to be fluent in?

I’m fluent in both English and French, and I’d love to be fluent in Spanish as well, because it’s such a widely spoken language. Or Mandarin, for the same reason, but that would be much harder.

24. Do you spell the colour as grey or gray?

Grey? I think?

25. Is your father bald?

Almost. (Sorry Dad!)

26. Do you know triplets?

I don’t think so.

27. Do you prefer Titanic or The Notebook?

I don’t know. I’ve seen Titanic several times, and it’s great, whereas I’ve only seen The Notebook once (although it’s also great!)

28. Have you ever had Indian food?

Yes.

29. What’s the name of your favorite restaurant?

Not sure. There’s an amazing restaurant called Vito’s not far from where my parents live which I really like.

30. Have you ever been to Olive Garden?

Nope.

31. Do you belong to any warehouse stores?

Nope.

32. What would your parents have named you if you were the opposite gender?

Pierre.

33. If you have a nickname, what is it?

I have lots, but mostly francophone ones. Minet-chou, Minette, Miss Coucou (all of which sound fine in French and weird in English) are the most frequently used (by my mother, my grandparents and my uncle and his kids respectively).

34. Who’s your favourite person in the world?

That’s an awful question. I love a lot of people, including family and friends and I’m not going to rank them in order of preference! Love is not finite: the amount of love I have to give grows when new people come into my life!

35. Would you rather live in a rural area or in the suburbs?

I want to work in theatre. I need to be within commuting distance of a theatre… The suburbs. Or even the city. I’ve lived in cities all my life, and while I love the countryside, I have no problems with living in the city.

36. Can you whistle?

Yes.

37. Do you sleep with a nightlight?

No.

38. Do you eat breakfast every morning?

Almost.

39. Do you take any pills or medication daily?

Yes.

40. What medical conditions do you have?

None.

41. How many times have you been to the hospital?

Birth and being stung by a lot of wasps in one go are the only ones I can think of, but I may be missing one or two.

42. Have you ever seen Finding Nemo?

Yes.

43. Where do you buy your jeans?

Charity shops. I don’t buy clothes very often, because I have plenty, but if I do, I prefer to buy them second hand, which is both cheaper and better for the environment, and in a context when I know the money will be going to people who need it, rather than big corporations.

44. What’s the last compliment you got?

No idea. The most exciting one I’ve had recently was a supervisor writing the word “Exactly!” on an essay.

45. Do you usually remember your dreams in the morning?

Yes, but not for long.

46. What flavor tea do you enjoy?

Lots. What I want depends on what mood I’m in. Right now, I’m tired and a little stressed from having a lot of uni work to do, so I want soothing and relaxing camomile tea.

47. How many pairs of shoes do you currently own?

(I walked over to count.) 12. Which is more than I need.

48. What religion will you raise your children to practice?

I’m a Catholic, and I will definitely tell any children I have about my beliefs. To what extent I raise them within that practice will depend on who I’m raising them with, their thoughts on religious upbringing, and, after a while, the hypothetical children’s beliefs.

49. How old were you when you found out that Santa wasn’t real?

7, I think?

50. Why do you have a blog?

I started blogging because my exams had just finished and I was at a loss for what to do with my time. I thought the internet lacked advice about the offstage side of theatre work, and I decided to fill that gap, partly for my own benefit, to have my experiences recorded so I could remember what I’d learned from them, and partly for other people’s benefit, so they could learn from them too.

 

Wow. That was a lot of questions! I hope you enjoyed this week’s post, despite it being a little different from what I usually do: let me know what you thought of it in the comments; if you’d like more like it, or if you’d rather I stick to theatre related posts, and/or if you have any burning questions about me I didn’t answer you would like me to! Please like the post if you enjoyed it, and follow the blog if you’re interested in more of my writing, and I will see you next Friday with my thoughts on the theatre I’ll have seen in February 2017. (I’m going to see Twelfth Night at the National Theatre tomorrow, and I’m so excited! Stay tuned for that!)

Emily xxx

3 comments

    • I’m pleased you enjoyed it! I have no idea if these really are the most frequently asked ones, but they came up, and thought a combination of lighthearted and marginally more serious questions was the best way to go about something like this. 🙂 Thanks for reading! xxx

      Like

  1. 30. Have you ever been to Olive Garden?
    Emily, I am not certain that Olive Garden in this question means The Olive Garden, the restaurant. You and I ate at The Olive Garden one evening in New York City before a show. Your father was with us and I remember it was located in Times Square, directly behind where we bought our same day theatre tickets. I enjoyed reading your 50 answers, as your plans and thoughts always interest me. Mamie xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

