Firstly, I apologise for this being a week late, and for the lack of blog post last week: I was on holiday in the Lake District and didn’t get around to uploading it. I hope that you manage to catch these plays this month anyway! (For any new readers, I will only recommend a few of the productions across the UK I think look most interesting, as I don’t want the post to get too long, but if you’re interested in even more, I tweet about all sorts of things I think look interesting. You can follow me on twitter here.)

Without further ado, here are the plays I think look exciting in the places I can get to, and those I can’t…

London:

Consent at The National Theatre. This looks amazing, and I wish that I could get to it. If you can, please enjoy it for me vicariously. (You can book here.)

– Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? at the Howard Pinter Theatre. I had to pick one thing I could afford to see at the theatre in London while I’m there (yesterday, by the time you read this) and this was what came up as being both interesting-looking and affordable (by the time I was looking there was only one affordable ticket for Consent, and I was going with a friend, so this was a second choice, but given the volume of theatre on in London, I think it’s fair to say that second choice, and chosen is a good sign!). I’ll let you know what I thought of it in my round up of April theatre next month, but if you want to make up your own mind, you can book here.

Both these shows are on til mid-May, so you may well see them recommended here again next month, depending on what else is on.

Cambridge:

There isn’t much going on in Cambridge that caught my eye this month – the students are on vacation, so there isn’t much on in the student theatres (although there is a production of The Full Monty by amateur company the Pied Players on next week – from the 11th to the 15th – which you can book for here if that appeals) and nothing on at the Arts Theatre looks particularly interesting. Hopefully I’ll have more to suggest in Cambridge next month!

Sheffield:

Sheffield Theatres also have a little less on than usual, as the Crucible is hosting the World Snooker Championships from the 15th, but the National Theatre’s Jane Eyre is coming from 18th to 22nd April, and is definitely not one to miss if you’re within reach of Sheffield. You can book here!

Also on in Sheffield is Easy Street Elite’s A Chorus Line, on at Yellow Arches Studios, 10th-13th April. I mentioned Easy Street Theatre company a few months ago, when my younger brother played Jean Valjean in their production of Les Miserables last summer (you can read it here) and I’m looking forwards to seeing this one too! You can book here.

Elsewhere:

Edinburgh – The Addams Family Musical UK Tour is opening in Edinburgh, 20th-29th April. This musical was really successful on Broadway, and there are high expectations for the UK Tour: it’s not one to miss, and I’m certainly hoping to catch it (although probably not in Edinburgh, that’s quite far from where I live). You can book here, or browse other venues here (I’ll probably mention them in future blog posts, so you can wait, but if you’d rather book early, you can do that too!).

That’s all for this week – thank you as always for reading: I hope you’ve seen something here that’s caught your eye! If you have any plays you think I’d be interested in seeing, please let me know in the comments – I love hearing recommendations from you all, and I’d also love to hear what you think of any (or all!) of these, if you manage to see them. Apologies again that this was a week late, but I’ll be back next week with a review of theatre I enjoyed in March 2017!

Emily xxx

P.S. I have not been paid/asked/otherwise encouraged by any of these productions to recommend them – they’re simply sincere recommendations of things I thought looked interesting.

Leave a Reply

