Life Update: Exams and A New Job!

I write most of my blog posts a few days in advance (sometimes even a few weeks, if I’m organised, or on a writing roll) and schedule them. This is one of the posts written a fair ways in advance (in fact, I had to come back and edit it when I was offered a job): by the time this goes up on Friday 19th May, I will be almost entirely in exam mode. I hope you’ll forgive the brevity: I’ll be writing about my new job and everything I’m getting to do there once I’ve settled in!!

I have hugely important exams coming up this week and next, and they’ve taken over my consciousness slightly. My entire undergraduate degree rests on the marks of five modules (called “papers” in Cambridge). I chose to write two dissertations, so two of those five are already done, but I have the remaining three to do in the next week and a bit (a three and a half hour exam on the 25th [ie. a week today!!], and two three-hour exams on the 26th and 31st respectively). I would appreciate all the good luck vibes/ well-intentioned thoughts/ prayers to your deity of choice that you would be willing to send my way! Assuming everything goes well, I will then be graduating on 30th June, and beginning my new life as a graduate!

As for beginning my new life: I’ve been offered a job as Metta Theatre‘s Administrator, which I will be starting on 5 June. I’ve had some training and preparation to do, which I’ve been doing in revision breaks through May, and then I start as soon as my exams are over. I couldn’t be more excited about it if I tried, and I will be writing about what I do there on this blog, so I’ll tell you more later, but for now I’ll leave you with this: the company is called Metta Theatre after the concept of meta-theatre (theatre which is self-consciously theatrical) and the Buddhist word “metta”, meaning compassion and loving-kindness. If that doesn’t describe an amazing sounding opportunity, I don’t know what one of those is.

I have already scheduled a post for next Friday – my usual recommendations for theatre in the month ahead (June 2017) – which will also mark one year since I started this blog! Exciting times. After that, my exams, and undergraduate life will be over, and I will begin blogging about my work for Metta, new projects/aspirations and more exciting theatre. I hope you stick around for it: follow the blog if you haven’t already done so!

Emily xxx

13 comments

  1. Hello Emily! Thanks for leaving likes on my blog too!! I was so surprised and happy to know that you are also studying arts administration in University (we call it arts management in Singapore) and would definitely be a frequent reader of your blog from now on 🙂 Have a great day ahead! Excited to hear about Metta Theatre!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

