Happy 1st Birthday to this blog! I started this blog a year ago tomorrow, after I’d finished my second year university exams, and wanted something to occupy my time and document what I was doing in theatre. I can’t believe a whole year has gone by, but I’m hugely grateful for the memories I’ve saved by doing this, about what I did for so many projects, and while interning over the summer, and for how far I’ve come during this year.  I’m looking forwards to writing about what I do in the coming year, and seeing where I’ve ended up by the time it’s rolled by. I’m also very grateful for the support of those of you who read this blog regularly: I really appreciate it.

When this post goes up, I will have finished two of my three final university exams. That’s a scary thought! But an exciting one as well: I’m looking forwards to some really exciting new things, starting very soon after this post goes up. (See last week’s life update!) In the mean time, life goes on, and theatre happens that you probably want to see. Here are my recommendations, in London, Cambridge and elsewhere for the month of June 2017.

In London:

The Barbershop Chronicles is on at the National Theatre until the 22nd June (and then at West Yorkshire Playhouse in July – wait for next month’s recommendations for that!). Produced by Fuel (I was involved in some of the casting preparation while I interned there) this play by Inua Ellams is set in six cities around the world, and considers the relationship between black men and their barbers, and their discussion of the world in barbershops. I cannot wait to see it! You can book tickets here.

Woyzeck is on at the Old Vic until the 24th June, and it looks thrilling and dark. The COld War, politics, and love. And an actor who was in a Star Wars film. What more could you want? You can book tickets here.

In Cambridge:

Wife, based on Carol Ann Duffy’s The World’s Wife, is on at the Corpus Playroom 30th May-3rd of June, and – despite being very keen – I’m not going to be able to see it (due to exams and then going to see Julius Caesar in Sheffield). Please go see it for me, and tell me all about it in the comments. You can book tickets here.

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels is on at the ADC Theatre from the 1st to the 10th June. From what I can tell, it’s a sparkly, fun musical, and that alone is a reason for it to be a great post-exams choice: easy, fun and a great way to unwind after a tense few weeks. I’m hoping to get to see it! You can book tickets here.

The Language Archive, about languages, love and being lost in translation, is on at the Corpus Playroom from 20th-24th June. As a bilingual person, I’m fascinated by this topic and very interested to know what this play has to say. You can book tickets here.

Elsewhere:

An Evening With An Immigrant, which I’ve mentioned before is my favourite production probably ever (of those I’ve personally seen to date). It’s on on 22nd June at The Shakespeare Centre, Stratford upon Avon, and you can book here.

Julius Caesar, Crucible Theatre, Sheffield, on from now until 10th June. I’m going to see this with my family as a 21st birthday present, which we booked almost six months ago: that’s how keen I am to see this production… You can book tickets here.

By the time this goes up, I will have seen The Addams Family Musical UK Tour, and I’ll tell you all about it in next week’s post. In June, it will be on at Southend Cliffs Pavilion 30th May-3rd June (book here), Birmingham Hippodrome 6th-10th June (book here), Theatre Royal Bath from 13th-17th June (book here), Hall for Cornwall, Truro, 20th-24th June (book here), and Nottingham Theatre Royal, 27th June-1st July (book here).

That’s all for this week: thank you as always for reading. If you have any good vibes/ well intentioned thoughts/ prayers to a deity of your choice/… that you’d be willing to send my way as I sit my final exam and start my new job, I’d be very grateful! I’ll be back next Friday with my thoughts on what little theatre I made it to this month.

Emily xxx

Leave a Reply

